Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AUBG Faculty Bibliography: Homer, Sean

Sean Homer

Professor of Film and Literature (LAT)

Office: MB 218

Phone: +359 73 888 451

Bibliography

Books

Homer, S. (2016). Slavoj Žižek and radical politics. Routledge.

Homer, S. (2005). Jacques Lacan. Routledge. 

Kellner, D., & Homer, S. (Eds.). (2004). Fredric Jameson: A critical reader. Palgrave Macmillan.

Homer, S. (1998). Fredric Jameson: Marxism, Hermeneutics, Postmodernism. Routledge.

Edited Journal

Homer, S., Parkin-Gounelas, R., & Stavrakakis, Y. (Eds.). (2006). Gramma: Journal of Theory and Criticism: Vol.14. Objects: Material, Psychic, Aesthetic. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

Book Chapters

Homer, S. (2019). The Lacanian left: From structures of misrecognition to the failures of jouissance. In Y. Stavrakakis (Ed.), Handbook of psychoanalytic political theory. Routledge.

Homer, S. (2019). The Lacanian left: From structures of misrecognition to the failures of jouissance.In N. L. Junior, C. Dunker, & D. Pavón-Cuéllar (Eds.), Análise Lacaniana de discurso: subversão e pesquisa e crítica [Lacanian discourse analysis: Subversion and critical research]. Appris Publications.

Homer, S. (2017). The persistence of theoretical anti-humanism, or, the politics of the subject in Alain Badiou and Slavoj Žižek. In T. Tsimpouki & K. Blatanis (Eds.), War on the Human (pp. 150–173). Cambridge Scholars Publishing.

Homer, S. (2017). Paris 1955–1968; or, Structuralism. In I. Szeman, S. Blacker, & J. Sully (Eds.), A companion to critical and cultural theory (pp. 41–58). Wiley-Blackwell.

Homer, S. (2017). Structuralism. In Oxford Bibliographies in Literary and Critical Theory. Oxford University Press (OUP). https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780190221911-0019

Homer, S. (2017). Fredric Jameson. In Oxford Bibliographies in Literary and Critical Theory. Oxford University Press (OUP). https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780190221911-0011

Homer, S. (2016). Jacques Lacan: Frued’s French interpreter. In A. Elliott & J. Prager (Eds.), The Routledge handbook of psychoanalysis in the social sciences and humanities (pp. 97–114). Routledge.

Homer, S. (2015). On ‘The critique of violence’ and revolutionary suicide. In Z. Kurelić (Ed.), Violence, art and politics (pp. 118–127). Biblioteka Politička Misao. www.academia.edu/16648305/On_The_Critique_of_Violence_and_Revolutionary_Suicide

Homer, S. (2014). Anti Anti-Utopia: Imagining alternative spaces. In F. Martinez & K. Slabina (Eds.), Playgrounds and battlefields: Critical perspectives of social engagement (1st ed., pp. 468–480). Tallinn University Press. https://www.academia.edu/7801251/Playgrounds_and_Battlefields?auto=download

Homer, S. (2014). The politics of comradeship: Philosophical commitment and construction in Alain Badiou and Slavoj Žižek. In M. Constantinou (Ed.), Badiou and the political condition (pp. 212–231). University Press.

Homer, S. (2014). The rupture of the real: Resistance and recuperation in recent Serbian cinema. In I. Parker & D. Pavon-Cuellar (Eds.), Lacan, discourse, event: New psychoanalytic approaches to textual indeterminacy (1st ed., pp. 313–324). Routledge.

Homer, S. (2014). Lacan. In R. Butler (Ed.), The Žižek Dictionary (pp. 158–161). Acumen. Retrieved from https://www.scribd.com/document/231733737/2014-The-Žižek-Dictionary-pdf

Homer, S. (2013). Dreaming of the end times: Žižek with Badiou. In D. Kamburov (Ed.), Event and immortality: Literature, language, philosophy, science (1st ed., pp. 32–46). Sofia University Press.

Homer, S. (2012). The masses as a “vanishing mediator:” Class and politics in Dušan Kovacevic’s The Professional. In R. Parkin-Gounelas (Ed.), The psychology and politics of the collective: Groups, crowds, and mass identifications (1st ed., pp. 103–117). Routledge.

Homer, S. (2007). Nationalism, ideology and Balkan cinema: Re-reading Kusturica’s Underground. In F. Vighi & H. Feldner (Eds.), Did somebody say ideology? Slavoj Žižek and consequences (1st ed., pp. 237–248). Cambridge Scholars. http://www.manchevski.com/docs/Nationalism_Ideology_Balkan_Cinema_Sean_Homer.pdf

Homer, S. (2006). Narratives of history, narratives of time. In C. Irr & I.Buchanan (Eds.), On Jameson: From postmodernism to globalization (pp.89-124). State University of New York Press.

Homer, S. (2004). Introduction. In D. Kellner & S. Homer (Eds.), Fredric Jameson: A critical reader (pp. 12-22). Palgrave Macmillan.

Homer. S. (2004). Sartrean origins. In D. Kellner & S. Homer (Eds.), Fredric Jameson: A critical reader (pp.1-21). Palgrave Macmillan.

Homer, S. (2004). Social theory, psychoanalysis and the politics of postmodernity: Anthony Elliott talks with Sean Homer. In A. Elliott, Social theory since Freud: Traversing social imaginaries (pp.158-169). Routledge.

Homer, S. (2001). Frederic Jameson. In A. Elliott & B. S. Turner (Eds.), Profiles in contemporary social theory (pp. 349-359). SAGE.

Homer, S. (2001). Fredric Jameson: Periodising postmodernism. In H. Bertens & J. Natoli (Eds.), Postmodernism: The key figures (pp. 180-188). Blackwell Publishers.

Journal Articles

Homer, S. (2017). The founding trauma of national identity in films of Milčo Mančevski / Politička misao. Croatian Political Science Review, 54(1/2), 94–115. http://politickamisao.com/the-founding-trauma-of-national-identity-in-films-of-milco-mancevski/

Homer, S. (2017). The persistence of theoretical Anti-humanism, or, The politics of the subject in Alain Badiou and Slavoj Žižek. Annual Review of Critical Psychology, 13. https://thediscourseunit.files.wordpress.com/2017/08/arcpseanh.pdf

Homer, S. (2014). “Los rromá no existen”: Los rromá como objecto de representation cinematográfica y cuestión de autenticidad. I Tchatchipen: Lil Ada Trin Tchona Rodipen Romani, 85, 43–54. 

Homer, S. (2013). To begin at the beginning again: Źižek in Yugoslavia. Slavic Review, 72(4), 708–727. http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5612/slavicreview.72.4.0708  

Homer, S. (2013). “Os roma não existem”: os roma como objeto de representação cinematográfica e a questão da autenticidade. Caravana Cigana, 72–85. http://www.mostracaravanacigana.com.br/textos/os-roma-nao-existem-os-roma-como-objeto-de-representacao-cinematografica-e-a-questao-da-autenticidade/

Homer, S. (2011). Time to get serious. Psychoanalysis, Culture & Society, 16(3), 307-314.

Homer. S. (2010). Voice as object a in Tony Gatlif's gadjo dilo. Psychoanalysis, Culture & Society, 15(1), 37-52.

Homer, S. (2009). The primordial lie. Psychotherapy and Politics International, 7(2), 140-144.

Homer, S. (2009). Retrieving Emir Kusturica’s Underground as a critique of ethnic nationalism. Jump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media, 51. http://www.ejumpcut.org/archive/jc51.2009/Kusterica/index.html

Homer, S. (2006). Introduction. Objects: Material, psychic, aesthetic, S. Homer, R. Parkin-Gounelas, & Y. Stavrakakis, (Eds.), 14, 7-17. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

Homer, S.(2006). The Roma do not exist: The Roma as an object of cinematic representation and the question of authencity.  Objects: Material, psychic, aesthetic, S. Homer, R. Parkin-Gounelas, & Y. Stavrakakis, (Eds.), 14, 183-197. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

Homer. S. (2006). The sublime object of Slavoj Zizek. Objects: Material, psychic, aesthetic, S. Homer, R. Parkin-Gounelas, & Y. Stavrakakis, (Eds.), 14, 261-276. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

Homer, S. (2005). Cinema and fetishism: The disavowal of a concept. Historical Materialism, 13(1), 85-116. 

Homer, S. (2001). From postmodernity to modernity and back again: On the production of everyday life. Moderna Språk, 95(2), 126-145.

Homer, S. (2001). It’s the political economy, stupid! On Zizek’s marxism. Journal of Lacan & Contemporary Psychoanalysis, 3(1), 41-62.

Homer, S. (2001). It’s the political economy, stupid! On Zizek’s marxism. Radical Philosophy, 108, 7-16.

Homer, S. (2000). Mapping the terrain of theoretical anti-humanism. Free Associations: Psychoanalysis and Culture, Media, Groups, Politics, 44(7, pt. 4), 29-51.

Homer, S. (1999). The Frankfurt school, the father and the social fantasy. New Formations, 38, 78-90.

Homer, S. (1999). Psychoanalysis and the politics of postmodernity: A conversation with Anthony Elliott. PS: Journal of the Universities Association for Psychoanalytic Studies, 2(2), 55-66.

Homer, S. (1998). Psychoanalysis, Post-marxism and the subject: From the ethical to the political. PS: Journal of the Universities Association for Psychoanalytic Studies, 1(1), 18-28.

Homer, S. (1996). Psychoanalysis, representation, politics - On the (im)possibility of a psychoanalytic theory of ideology - The Letter. The Letter: Irish Journal for Lacanian Psychoanalysis, 7, 97–109.

Newspaper Article

Хомер, Ш. (2012). Извори на надеждата: критика на лаканианския антиутопизъм. Литературен Вестник, p. 4. http://www.bsph.org/members/files/pub_pdf_1307.pdf

DVD Introductory Booklet

Homer, S. (2016) Once upon a time there was a country with a film industry. British Film Institute Publications (pp. 9-16).

Conference Proceedings

Xenitidou, M., White, P., & Homer, S. (2006). Talking about migration in Central Northern Greece: The employment of the construct of Greek emigrants. In I. Paraskakis, I. Stamatopoulou, & O. Paunovski (Eds.), Proceedings of the 1st Annual South East Europe Research Centre Doctoral Student Conference (pp. 224–235). Thessaloniki. http://seerc.org/docs/phd-resources/DSC2006.pdf

Gökçen, M. S., Homer, S., & Oates, C. J. (2006). Consuming nationalism: Contemporary nationalism in Turkish popular culture. In I. Paraskakis, I. Stamatopoulou, & O. Paunovski (Eds.), Proceedings of the 1st Annual South East Europe Research Centre Doctoral Student Conference (pp. 261–273). Thessaloniki. http://seerc.org/docs/phd-resources/DSC2006.pdf

Hatzis, E., Sheen, E., & Homer, S. (2006). In search of the invisible in Balkan cinema. In I. Paraskakis, I. Stamatopoulou, & O. Paunovski (Eds.), Proceedings of the 1st Annual South East Europe Research Centre Doctoral Student Conference (pp. 274–284). Thessaloniki. http://seerc.org/docs/phd-resources/DSC2006.pdf

Book Reviews

Homer, S. (2017). [Review of The Cinema of Theo Angelopoulos, by A. Koutspourakis and M. Steven (Eds.)]. Journal of Greek Media and Culture, 3(2).

Homer, S. (2017). [Review of Jacques Lacan and Cinema - Imaginary, gaze, formalization, by P. Bianchi]. European Journal of Psychotherapy and Counselling, 19(2), 223-26.

Homer, S. (2014). [Review of Lacan – the unconscious reinvented, by C Soler]. European Journal of Psychotherapy & Counselling, 16(4), 400–402. https://doi.org/10.1080/13642537.2014.966593

Homer, S. (2014). Realism after Postmodernism. [Review of the book The Antinomies of Realism, by F. Jameson].  Reviews in Cultural Theory, 5(2), 313. http://reviewsinculture.com/2014/12/01/realism-after-postmodernism/

Homer, S. (2011). [Review of the book Valences of the dialectic, by F. Jameson]. Subjectivities, 4(1), 469-473.

Homer, S. (2010). [Review of the book Slavoj Zizek: A little piece of the real, by M. Sharpe]. Studies in Marxism, 12, 258-260.

Homer, S. (2010). [Review of the book Valences of the dialectic, by F. Jameson]. Gramma: A Journal of Theory and Criticism, 18, 241-243. http://www.enl.auth.gr/gramma/gramma10/review3.pdf

Homer, S. (2008). [Review of the book Lacan: The silent partners, by S. Zizek (Ed.)]. Contemporary Political Theory, 7(1), 109-111. https://search.proquest.com/docview/237052291/5851F03A590A4528PQ/9?accountid=41929

Homer, S. (2002). [Review of the book Psychoanalysis at its limits: Navigating the postmodern turn, by A. Elliot & C. Spezzano (Eds)]. Free Associations: Psychoanalysis and Culture, Media, Groups, Politics, 49.

Homer, S. (2000). [Review of the book The cultural turn: Selected writings on the postmodern, 1983-1998, by F. Jameson]. Keywords, 3, 128-134.

Homer, S. (2000). [Review of the book The origins of postmodernity, by P. Anderson]. Keywords, 3, 128-134.

Homer, S. (2000). [Review of the book Psychoanalytic criticism: A reappraisal, by E. Wright]. Psychoanalytic Studies, 2(4),  407-409. 

Homer, S. (2000). [Review of the book Speaking desires can be dangerous: The poetics of the unconscious, by E. Wright]. PS: Journal of the Universities Association for Psychoanalytic Studies, 2(4),  407-409.

Homer, S. (1999). Cultural ambivalence [Review of the book Psychoanalysis and culture: Contemporary states of mind, by R. Minsky]. PS: Journal of the Universities Association for Psychoanalytic Studies, 2(1), 81-94.

Homer, S. (1999, May). Experiments with extremes. [Review of the book Walter Benjamin: A biography, by M. Brodersen]. Socialist History, 14, 85-87.

Homer, S. (1999). [Review of the book Psycho-politics and cultural desires, by J. Campbell & J. Harbord (Eds.)]. PS: Journal of the Universities Association for Psychoanalytic Studies, 2(1), 81-94.

Homer, S. (1997, March). [Review of the book Global modernities, by M. Featherstone, S. Lash & R. Robertson (Eds.)]. Habitat International, 21(1), 129-130.

Entries in Encyclopedia

Homer, S. (2017). Fredric Jameson [entry update]. In E. O’Brien (Ed.), Oxford bibliographies in literary and critical theory. Oxford University Press. doi: 10.1093/OBO/9780190221911-0011

Homer, S. (2004). Humanism and Anti-humanism. In C. J. Murray (Ed.), Encyclopedia of modern French thought. Fitzroy Dearborn.

Homer, S. (2004). Jacques Lacan. In C. J. Murray (Ed.), Encyclopedia of modern French thought. Fitzroy Dearborn.

Homer, S. (1999). Louis Althusser. In C. Murray (Ed.), Encyclopedia of literary critics and criticism. Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers.

Homer, S. (1999). Psychoanalytic criticism. In C. Murray (Ed.), Encyclopedia of literary critics and criticism. Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers.