Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style: Other Materials

The purpose of this guide is to show you how to cite your resources using the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition). It provides useful tips and examples for organizing your work and bibliography.

Secondary Referencing

SECONDARY REFERENCING

Secondary reference: The citation of a source made by another author without referring to the original source. 

It is usually preferred to cite the original source, however, this is not always possible. This type of referencing is usually discouraged in Chicago Manual of Style, but sometimes the original work cannot be tracked down or is inaccessible for the writer. In this case both the original and the secondary source should be listed in the notes and the bibliography.

SECONDARY REFERENCING
FOOTNOTE

Format:

1. Original Author First Name/Initial Surname, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page number, quoted in Secondary Source's Author First Name/Initial Surname, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page number.

Example:

Werner Williams, Beyond the Ethical Pale (Berlin: Deutscher Press, 1996), 72, quoted in Graham Douglas, Reasoning Critically: The Ethical Way (Richmond: Swaledale Press, 2010), 93.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Original Author Surname, First Name/Initial. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher,
Year. Quoted in Secondary Source's Author First Name/Initial Surname. Title.
Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Williams, W. Beyond the Ethical Pale. Berlin: Deutscher Press, 1996.
Quoted in Douglas, G. Reasoning Critically: The Ethical Way.
Richmond: Swaledale Press, 2010.

Reports/Brochures

REPORTS / BROCHURES / PAMPHLETS

GENERAL GUIDELINES

  • Same as book citation entry.
REPORTS / BROCHURES / PAMPHLETS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

3. Author First Name/Initial Surname, Title of Pamphlet: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page number.

Example:

3. Audrey Briers, Eat, Drink and Be Merry (Oxford: Ashmolean Museum,1990).

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Title of Pamphlet: Subtitle.
Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
 

Example:

Briers, Audrey. Eat, Drink and Be Merry. Oxford:
Ashmolean Museum, 1990.

Personal Communication

E-MAILS / LETTERS / INTERVIEWS

GENERAL GUIDELINES

  • These include personal communication; usually unpublished;
  • Footnotes only;
E-MAILS / LETTERS / PERSONAL COMMUNICATION
FOOTNOTE

Format:

2. First Name/Initial Surname, interview with/e-mail to First Name Surname, Date of interview/e-mail.

Example:

2. Tony Stark (owner, Stark Enterprises), email message to author, October 14, 2017.

Conference Proceedings

CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS / LECTURES

GENERAL GUIDELINES

  • Similar to book chapter entires;
  • Include: lecturer name, paper/lecture title, sponsorship, location, and date of the meeting;
CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS / LECTURES 
FOOTNOTE

Format:

4. Lecturer First Name Surname, "Title of the Lecture/Paper " (lecture/conference, Location of lecture/conference, Month Day, Year), URL.

Example:

4. K. Fitzgerald, "Strategic Management in Tourist Itineraries Development" (Balkan Tourism Development Forum, Thessaloniki, Greece, July 15, 2017).

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Lecturer Surname, First Name or Initial. "Lecture/Paper Title." Lecture/Conference.

Location of Lecture/Conference, Month Day, Year. URL

Example:

Fitzgerald, K. "Strategic Management in Tourist Itineraries Development". Balkan Tourism Development Forum. Thessaloniki, Greece, July 15, 2017.

Legal and Public Documents

GUIDELINES

  • Country, city, state, province, county, etc.
  • Legislative body, executive department, court, bureau, board commission or committee, etc.
  • Subsidiary divisions
  • Title, if any, of the document or collection
  • Individual author (editor or compiler), if given
  • Report number or any other identification necessary or useful in finding the specific document
  • Publisher, if different from issuing body
  • Note that for legal materials and government documents bibliography entry is not required.
LEGAL AND PUBLIC DOCUMENTS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

5. Author First Name Surname, “Title of Document” (source type identifier, Place of Publication, year of publication), page number(s). URL.

Example:

5. “Opinion: GMOs Will Compromise Nature, Food Security, Health And National Sovereignty.” (ChimpReports. Knowledge Bylanes, 2019). http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsgin&AN=edsgcl.604237665&site=eds-live.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name. “Title of Document.” Source type identifier, Place of Publication, year of publication.

Example:

“Opinion: GMOs Will Compromise Nature, Food Security, Health And National Sovereignty.” ChimpReports. Knowledge Bylanes, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsgin&AN=edsgcl.604237665&site=eds-live.