Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style: Web Content

The purpose of this guide is to show you how to cite your resources using the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition). It provides useful tips and examples for organizing your work and bibliography.

 

Websites

WEBSITES

When citing a website you should include information about:

  • Title or description of the page  - capitalized, in inverted commas
  • Title of the general webpage
  • Author of the content (if appears)
  • Owner or sponsor of the site
  • Publication, modification, or revision date (if not available - an access date)
  • URL
  • In some cases, websites are cited in footnotes only.
WEBSITES
FOOTNOTE

Format:

4. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Title of Page," Title of Site as a Whole, Publishing, Owner or Sponsor of Site, publication/access date, URL.

Example:

4. Daniel H. Bays, "The Foreign Missionary Movement in the 19th and Early20th Centuries," TeacherServe, National Humanities Center, last revised September 2005, http://nationalhumanitiescenter.org/tserve/nineteen/nkeyinfo/fmmovementd.htm.

BIBLIOGRAPHY 

Format:

Author Surname, First Name or Initials. "Title of Page." Title of Site as a Whole.
Owner or Sponsor of Site. Publication/access date, URL.
 

Example:

Bays, Daniel H. "The Foreign Missionary Movement in the 19th and Early 20th
Centuries." TeacherServe. National Humanities Center. Last modified September 2005. http://nationalhumanitiescenter.org/tserve/nineteen/nkeyinfo/fmmovementd.htm.

Podcast

PODCAST
FOOTNOTE

Format:

6. Author Name Surname, "Episode Title, " date of publication, in Podcast Title, produced by Producer Name, podcast, medium, running time, URL.

Example:

6. Sean Cole and Ira Glass, “622: Who You Gonna Call?,” August 4, 2017, in This American Life, produced by WBEZ, podcast, MP3 audio, 1:00:27, https://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/622/who-you-gonna-call.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, Name. "Episode Title, " Produced by Producer Name. Podcast Title. Date of publication. Podcast, Medium. Running time. URL.

Example:

Cole, Sean and Ira Glass. “622: Who You Gonna Call?.” Produced by WBEZ. This American Life. August 4, 2017. Podcast, MP3 audio, 1:00:27. https://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/622/who-you-gonna-call.

Blogs

BLOGS

When citing blogs tou should include the following information:

  • Author of the content
  • Title or description of the page  - capitalized, in inverted commas
  • Blog title - capitalized, italicized
  • Add the word (blog) in brackets only if it is not present in the blog title
  • Blog posts citations are not necessary in the bibliography
  • Date posted
  • URL
BLOGS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

 5. Author First Name Surname, "Title of Entry," Title of Blog (blog), Month Day, Year Posted, URL.

Example:

5. Jason B. Jones, “Getting More Done with Emoji,” ProfHacker (blog), Chronicle  of Higher Education, November 22, 2016, https://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/getting-more-done-with-emoji/63240.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Entry." Title of Blog (blog).  Month Day, Year Posted, URL.

Example:

Jones, Jason B. “Getting More Done with Emoji.” ProfHacker (blog). Chronicle
of Higher Education, November 22, 2016.
https://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/getting-more-done-with-emoji/63240.

Social Media

SOCIAL MEDIA
FOOTNOTE

Format:

5. First Name Surname (Screen Name), “Quote as much as first 160 characters/spaces of post,” Type of Post, Date of Post, URL.

Example:

5. Conan O’Brien (@ConanOBrien), “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets,” Twitter, April 22, 2015, 11:10 a.m., https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Surname, First Name “(Screen Name), “Quote as much as first 160 characters/spaces of post.”  Type of Post, Date of Post. URL

Example:

O’Brien, Conan (@ConanOBrien). 2015. “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets.”
Twitter, April 22, 2015, 11:10 a.m. https://twitter.com/ConanOBrien/status/590940792967016448.

Citing Website / Format