Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style: Books

The purpose of this guide is to show you how to cite your resources using the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition). It provides useful tips and examples for organizing your work and bibliography.

 

Print Books / One author

ONE AUTHOR / EDITOR
FOOTNOTE

Format:

1. Author First Name/Initial Author Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page number.

  • Book title in italics, Capitalized
  • Author name - no inverse
  • Use commas as separators
  • For editor - add ed. after the name

Examples:

1. Fillip Graham, Ethical Dilemmas in Academia. (Perith: Fair City Press, 2007), 106.

2. David W. Ellwood, ed., The Movies as History: Visions of the Twentieth Century (Stroud, Gloucestershire: Sutton, 2000), 4.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, Author First Name/Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

  • Book title in italics
  • Author name - in inverse
  • Use ful stops as separators
  • For editor - add ed. after the name

Examples:

Graham, Fillip. Ethical Dilemmas in Academia. Perith: Fair City Press, 2007.

Ellwood, David W., ed. The Movies as History: Visions of the Twentieth Century. Stroud,
Gloucestershire: Sutton, 2000.

Print Books / Four or more authors

FOUR OR MORE AUTHORS / EDITORS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

3. Author First Name/Initial Surname and others (or et al.), Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page number.

Example:

3. F.G. Schneider et al., Word for Word (Dusseldorf: Rhein Verlag, 2010), 60.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

1st Author Surname, First Name/Initial, 2nd Author First Name/Initial Surname, 3rd Author First Name Initial Surname, and 4th Author First Name/Initial Surname. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Schneider, F.G., C.K. Kleister, M. Krebs, and V. Schnecke. Word for Word. Dusseldorf: Rhein Verlag, 2010, 55-62.

Print Books / Multivolume works

MULTIVOLUME WORKS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

5. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," in Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Volume Number:Page Number.

Example:

5. David Holloway, “Nuclear Weapons and the Escalation of the Cold War, 1945–1962,” in The Cambridge History of the Cold War, ed. Melvyn P. Leffler and Odd Arne Westad (Cambridge:Cambridge University Press, 2010), 1:388.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Chapter or Article." In Volume Title: Subtitle, edited by Editor First Name Surname, page range of chapter. Vol. volume number of Title of Multivolume Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
 
Example:
​Holloway, David. “Nuclear Weapons and the Escalation of the Cold War, 1945–1962.”
In Origins, ed. Melvyn P. Leffler and Odd Arne Westad, 376-397. Vol. 1 of The
Cambridge History of the Cold War. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Print Books / No author

NO AUTHOR
FOOTNOTE

Format:

7. Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Example:

7. New York Public Library American History Desk Reference (New York: Macmillan, 1997), 87.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example: 

New York Public Library American History Desk Reference. New York: Macmillan, 1997.

Print Books / Translated

TRANSLATED BOOKS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

8. Author First Name/Initial Surname, Title of Book: Subtitle, trans. Translator First Name Surname (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Example:

8. Leo Tolstoy, War and Peace, trans. Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky (New York: Vintage Books, 2008), 205.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname / First Name/Initial, Title of Book: Subtitle. Translated by Translator First Name/SurnamePlace of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example: 

Tolstoy, Leo. War and Peace. Translated by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky. New York: Vintage Books, 2008. 

Classic Works

CLASSIC WORKS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

9. Author, Title, number.number.number.

Examples:

9. Matthew 10:34 (NRSV).

10. Qur’an 45:6.

Citing Books / Format

Citing Books / Format

 

Print Books / Two or three authors

TWO OR THREE AUTHORS / EDITORS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

2. Author First Name/Initial Surname and Author First Name/Initial Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

  • Names - no inverse, can use initials
  • For editors - add eds. after the names

Examples:

2.  Brain Fairfull and Alex Hunter, Division of Labor: the Ethical Impact. (London: Thames Press, 2009), 22.

3. W.F. Garrett-Petts, James F. Hoffman, and Ginny Ratsoy, eds., Whose Culture Is It, Anyway?: Community Engagement in Small Cities (Vancouver, BC: New Star Books, 2014), 48.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name Initial, and Author First Name Initial Surname. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

  • Names - can use initials, first author - inverse, second - no inverse
  • For editors - add eds. after the names

Examples:

Fairfull, B. and A. Hunter. Division of Labor: the Ethical Impact. London: Thames Press, 2009.

Garrett-Petts, W.F., James F. Hoffman, and Ginny Ratsoy, eds. Whose Culture Is It,
            Anyway?: Community Engagement in Small Cities. 
Vancouver, BC:
            New Star Books, 2014.

Print Books / Book chapter

BOOK CHAPTER / EDITED BOOK
FOOTNOTE

Format:

4. Author First Name Surname, "Title of Chapter," in Book Title: Subtitle, ed. Editor First Name/Initial Surname (Place of Publication:Publisher, Year), Page Number.

  • Title of chapter - in inverted commas, no italics
  • Title of book - in italics
  • Editor name (if appear) - after the book title

Example:

4. B. Chatsworh, "Academic Education," in Making the Student Mind, ed. M. Diddle (Edinburgh: Norloch Publishing, 2005), 109.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Chapter or Article." In Book Title: Subtitle, edited by Editor First Name Surname, page range of article/chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
  • Author name - in inverse
  • Editor name - no inverse

Example:

Chatsworh, B. "Academic Education." In Making the Student Mind, edited by M. Diddle, 103-115, Edinburgh: Norloch Publishing, 2005.

Print Books / Corporate Author

CORPORATE AUTHOR
FOOTNOTE

Format:

6. Organization Name, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Example:

6. World Health Organization, WHO Editorial Style Manual (Geneva: World Health Organization, 1993), 34. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Organization Name. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Examples:

World Health Organization. WHO Editorial Style Manual. Geneva: World
Health Organization, 1993.

Print Books / Edited

EDITED BOOKS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

9. Author First Name Surname,. "Title of Chapter," in Title of Book, ed. Editor First Name Surname (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page range.

Example:

9. Peter Lurie, “Mad Cow Disease is a Threat to American Meat,” in Food-Borne Illnesses, ed. Karen F. Balkin (Farmington Hills, MI: Dushkin Publishing, 2004), 16. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Name Surname, page range of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Lurie, Peter. “Mad Cow Disease is a Threat to American Meat.” In Food-Borne Illnesses, edited by Karen F. Balkin, 271-79. Farmington Hills, MI: Dushkin Publishing, 2004. 

E-books

E-BOOKS
FOOTNOTE

Format:

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page number. Format/URL/DOI/Database.

Examples:

1. Margaret Douglas, The Dialogue of Citation: Building the Argument (Glasgow: Clyde Press, 2006), accessed March 31, 2011, http://www.ethicalenquiries.com/content/lindsay/192445.html.
2. Eiichiro Azuma, Between Two Empires: Race, History, and Transnationalism in Japanese
America (New York: Oxford University Press, 2005), 72. DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195159400.001.0001.
BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name/Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication:
Publisher, Year. Format/URL/DOI/Database.

Examples:

Margaret Douglas, The Dialogue of Citation: Building the Argument. Glasgow: Clyde Press, 2006. Accessed March 31, 2011.
http://www.ethicalenquiries.com/content/lindsay/192445.html.
Azuma, Eiichiro. Between Two Empires: Race, History, and Transnationalism in Japanese
America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. DOI:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195159400.001.0001.

Note:
URL: Uniform Resource Locator. Can possibly change and the material can become unaccessible.
DOI: Digital Object Identifier. Permanent link to the material. Does not expire.

Citing E-books / Format

Citing E-books / Biblography