Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Manual of Style: Periodicals

The purpose of this guide is to show you how to cite your resources using the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition). It provides useful tips and examples for organizing your work and bibliography.

 

Periodicals

Periodicals: includes all journals, magazines and newspapers - print and online.

Journals: academic or scientific articles presenting an original research that follows a specific structure with references; written by experts and professionals in the field; often peer-reviewed;

Magazines: aimed at the general public; inform and entertain; covering various subjects; non-academic;

Print Journal Articles

JOURNAL ARTICLES / PRINT
FOOTNOTE

Format:

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page number.

Examples:

1. A. Schribner, "Authorship by Proxy: the Case of the Non-original Best-seller." Journal of Professional Ethics 33, no. 4 (2006): 56.
2. Kimberly Jensen, "A Base Hospital Is Not a Coney Island Dance Hall," Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies 26, no. 2 (June 2005): 211.
BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume,

no. Issue (Year): Page range of article.

Examples: 

Schribner, A. "Authorship by Proxy: the Case of the Non-original Best-seller."
Journal of Professional Ethics 33, no. 4 (2006): 56-92
Jensen, Kimberly. "A Base Hospital Is Not a Coney Island Dance Hall." Frontiers: 
A Journal of Women Studies 26, no. 2 (June 2005): 206-235.

Print Magazine Articles

MAGAZINE ARTICLES / PRINT
FOOTNOTE

Format:

2. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month Day, Year, Page number.

Example:

2. Denis Judd, "Hanging on to the Jewel in the Crown," History Today, November 2009, 34.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Day, Year.

Example:

Judd, Denis. "Hanging on to the Jewel in the Crown." History Today, November 2009.

Print Newspaper Articles

NEWSPAPER ARTICLES / PRINT
FOOTNOTE

Format:

3. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year, edition.

Examples:

3. Stanley Standers, "University Plagiarism Tracking Devices," Tayside Morning Chronicle, July 21 2009.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Newspaper Title,

Month Day, Year.

Example:

Standers, S. "University Plagiarism Tracking Devices," Tayside Morning Chronicle, July 21 2009.

Citing Print Articles / Format

Citing Online Articles / Format

General Guidelines

Note the following bibliographic information when citing journal/magazine/newspaper articles.

JOURNAL / MAGAZINE

Author's names:

  • Footnotes: First name Surname structure;
  • Bibliography: Surname First name structure; subsequent names - no inverse;

Article title:

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: in quotation marks; not italicized; capitalized;

Journal title:

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: italicized; no quotation marks; capitalized;

Issue information:

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: volume number; issue number (no.); publication date or year (in brackets);

Page information:

  • Footnotes: only the page number(s) cited;
  • Bibliography: the page range of the article;

NEWSPAPER

Author:

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: if listed - cite the author, if not - cite the news service; capitalized;

Article title:

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: in quotation marks; not italicized; capitalized;

Newspaper title:

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: italicized; no quotation marks; capitalized; omit the article 'The' if it is the first of the newspaper's name; if it local, not well-known newspaper - include city/province name in brackets after the title;

Issue information:

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: month (often abbreviated), day, and year;

Page information:

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: page numbers are omitted;

FOR ONLINE ARTICLES

  • Footnotes&Bibliography: DOI (preferred) or URL, at the end of the citation;
  • Footnotes&Bibliography: access date - only if required; precedes the DOI/URL information (Accessed Month Day Year);

Online Journal Articles

JOURNAL ARTICLES / ONLINE
FOOTNOTE

Format:

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page number, accessed [date], DOI/URL.

Examples:

1. R. Cruikshanks, "Working the Style," Online Journal of Ethics and Standards 15, no.1 (2001): 24, accessed October 18, 2011, http://www.hvn.ac.uk/truth.html.

2. Joshua D. Kertzer and Brian C. Rathbun, "Fair is Fair: Social Preferences and Reciprocity in International Politics," World Politics 67, no. 4 (2015): 650, doi: 10.1017/S0043887115000180. 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume,

no. Issue (Year): Page range of article [if provided]. Accessed [date]. DOI/URL.

Examples:

Cruikshanks, R. "Working the Style," Online Journal of Ethics and Standards
15, no.1 (2001): 24-32. Accessed October 18, 2011. 
Kertzer, Joshua D., and Brian C. Rathbun. "Fair is Fair: Social Preferences
and Reciprocity in International Politics." World Politics 67, no. 4 (2015):
613-655. doi: 10.1017/S0043887115000180.

Magazine Articles / Online

MAGAZINE ARTICLES / ONLINE
FOOTNOTE

Format:

2. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month Day, Year, Page number, URL/Database.

Example:

2. Will R. Bird, "What Was the Price of Vimy Ridge?," Maclean's, April 1,1936, http://www.macleans.ca/archives/what-was-the-price-of-vimy-ridge/.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, 
Month Day, Year, page range, URL/Database.

Example:

Bird, Will R. "What Was the Price of Vimy Ridge?." Maclean's, April 1, 1936.
http://www.macleans.ca/archives/what-was-the-price-of-vimy-ridge/.

Newspaper Articles / Online

NEWSPAPER ARTICLES / ONLINE
FOOTNOTE

Format:

3. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year, edition, [accessed Month Date Year] URL/Database.

Example:

3. Stanley Standers, "University Plagiarism Tracking Devices," Tayside Morning Chronicle, July 21 2009, accessed October 18, 2010. www.dundeenews.org/plagiarism-trcking-devices.1234567.html.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Format:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Newspaper Title,

Month Day, Year. [Accessed Month Date Year] URL/Database.

Example:

Standers, S. "University Plagiarism Tracking Devices," Tayside Morning Chronicle,

July 21 2009. Accessed October 18, 2010.
www.dundeenews.org/plagiarism-trcking-devices.1234567.html.