Skip to Main Content

Chicago Manual of Style: Audio-Visual Media

The purpose of this guide is to show you how to cite your resources using the Chicago Manual of Style (18th edition). It provides useful tips and examples for organizing your work and bibliography.

 

General guidelines

MULTIMEDIA

Citations of multimedia content will vary depending on the type of source. The following elements are usually included:

  • The person or group or other entity responsible for creating or compiling the content
  • A title or description of the content
  • The name of the publisher or other entity responsible for making the content available
  • The date that the content was recorded or published
  • Information about the medium
  • For sources consulted online, a URL

Films

FILMS

  • Cited according to the nature of the material - television, show, movie, etc.
  • Include any facts relevant  

Footnote Reference Format:

"Scene Title or Number," OR Title of Movie, directed by Director First Name Surname (Year released; Place of Publication: Publisher, Year). Format (DVD/VHS).

 

Bibliography Reference Format:

Title of Movie. Directed by Director First Name Surname. Year Released; Place of Publication: Publishing Studio, Year. Format (DVD/VHS).

Examples:

Films

FOOTNOTES

1. Rear Window, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1954; Universal City, CA: Universal Home Video, 2001). DVD.

2. "Crop Duster Attack," North by Northwest, directed by Alfred Hitchcock (1959; Warner Home Video, 2000), DVD.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Rear Window. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock. 1954; Universal City, CA: Universal Home Video, 2001. DVD.

Cuaron, Alfonso, dir. Gravity. 2013; Warner Bros. Pictures, 2017. Blu-ray Disc, 1080p HD.
TV show

FOOTNOTES

1. Star Trek: The Next Generation, season 2, episode 9, “The Measure of a Man,” directed by Robert Scheerer, written by Melinda M. Snodgrass, featuring Patrick Stewart, Brent Spiner, and Whoopi Goldberg, aired February 13, 1989, in broadcast syndication, Paramount, 2012, Blu-Ray.

2. American Crime Story: The People v. O. J. Simpson, episode 6, "Marcia, Marcia, Marcia," written by D. V. DeVincentis, directed by Ryan Murphy, featuring Sterling K. Brown, Kenneth Choi, and Sarah Paulson, aired March 8, 2016, on FX, https://xxx

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Snodgrass, Melinda M, writer. Star Trek: The Next Generation. Season 2, episode 9, “The Measure of a Man.” Directed by Robert Scheerer, featuring Patrick Stewart, Brent Spiner, and Whoopi Goldberg. Aired February 13, 1989, in broadcast syndication. Paramount, 2012, Blu-Ray.

Online videos

ONLINE VIDEOS

  • Always try to include information about the original source

Footnote Reference Format:

First Name Last Name of Presenter/Author, "Title of Work," Date filmed/posted, Sponsoring Body, URL.

 

Bibliography Reference Format:

Presenter/Author Last Name, First Name.  "Title of Work." Date filmed/posted. Sponsoring Body, length of video. URL.

 

Examples:

Online videos

FOOTNOTE

1. Naomi Klein, "Addicted to Risk," December 2010, TED video, 19:49, https://www.ted.com/talks/naomi_klein_addicted_to_risk. 

2. Eric Oliver, "Why So Many Americans Believe in So Many 'Crazy' Things," moderated by Andrew McCall, virtual lecture, February 23, 2022, posted March 21, 2022, by University of Chicago, YouTube, https://xxx

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Klein, Naomi. "Addicted to Risk." December 2010. TED video, 19:49. https://www.ted.com/talks/naomi_klein_addicted_to_risk

Brown, Evan. "The 10 Commandments of Typography." Infographic. Design- Mantic, April 11, 2014. https://www.designmantic.com/blog/infographics/ten -commandments-of-typography/.

Podcasts

PODCASTS

  • Cite as television episodes or series

Examples:

Podcasts

1. Lauren Ober, host, The Loudest Girl in the World, podcast, season 1, episode 2, "Goodbye, Routine; Hello, Meltdown!," Pushkin  Industries, September 13, 2022, https://xxx

2. Dexter Thomas Jr., host, Authentic: The Story of Tablo, produced by Stephanie Kariuki, VICE / iHeart Podcast Network, March 24, 2022, https://xxx

Musical recordings

MUSICAL RECORDINGS

Footnote Reference Format:

Name of group/composer/performer, “Title,” contributing personnel, recording date, Recording Company or Publisher, track number on Name of Album, year of release, medium.

 

Bibliography Reference Format:

Name of group or composer or performer. Title. Contributing personnel. Recording date. Recording Company or Publisher, Medium.

 

Note: Musical recordings are usually listed in a separate discography rather than in a bibliography. If included in a bibliography, they are best grouped under an appropriate subhead. 

Examples:

Musical recording

FOOTNOTE

1. Bob Dylan, “Workingman’s Blues #2,” recorded February 2006, track 3 on Modern Times, Columbia, compact disc.

2. Ray Charles, vocalist, “Georgia on My Mind,” by Hoagy Carmichael and Stuart Gorrell, recorded March 1960, track 2 on The Genius Hits the Road, ABC-Paramount, vinyl LP.

3. "Umbrella," featuring Jay-Z, MP3 audio, track 1 on Rihanna, Good Girl Gone Bad, Island Def Jam, 2007.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Dylan, Bob. “Workingman’s Blues #2.” Recorded February 2006. Track 3 on Modern Times. Columbia, compact disc.

Charles, Ray. “Georgia on My Mind.” By Hoagy Carmichael and Stuart Gorrell. Recorded March 1960. Track 2 on The Genius Hits the Road. ABC-Paramount, vinyl LP.

Pink Floyd. Atom Heart Mother. Capitol CDP7 46381 2, 1990, compact disk. Originally released in 1970.

Paintings, photographs, and sculpture

PAINTINGS, PHOTOGRAPHS, AND SCULPTURE

  • Usually cited in text only.
  • If a more formal citation (note or bibliography of images) is needed, use the format:

Footnote Reference Format:

Artist First Name Last Name, Title of Work (or description), Date of creation/completion, Medium, Location of work, Museum accession number or URL.

Examples:

Paintings, photographs, and sculpture

1. Salvador Dali, The Persistence of Memory, 1931, oil on canvas, 9 x 13 in. (24,1 x 33 cm), Museum of Modern Art, New York, object no. 162.1943, https://xxx

2. Steve McCurry, Afghan Girl, December 1984, photograph, National Geographic, cover, June 1985. 

Please note that citation is not the same as caption or credit. If you use images in your thesis/dissertation/assignment, you must check each item's copyright/usage rights information. For more information about Image Copyright check our Libguide.

Recorded readings, lectures, etc.

RECORDED READINGS AND LECTURES

  • Recordings of drama, prose, or poetry readings, lectures, speeches, and the like are treated much the same as musical recordings.

Examples:

Recorded readings and lectures

FOOTNOTES

1. Dylan Thomas, Under the Milk Wood, performed by Dylan Thomas et al., Caedmon TC-2005, 1953, 33 1/3 rpm, 2 LPs.

2. Harry S. Truman, "First Speech to Congress," April 16, 1945, Miller Center of Public Affairs, University of Virginia, transcript and audio, 18:13, https://xxx

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Auden, W. H. Selected Poems. Read by the author. Spoken Arts 7137, 1991. Audiocassette. 

Morrison, Toni. “Nobel Lecture.” December 7, 1993. Grand Hall of the Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden. MPEG-4, 33:18. https://xxx

Video games and other apps

VIDEO GAMES AND OTHER APPS

  • Video games and other software programs or apps can usually be cited in the text or note, with no corresponding bibliographic entry.
  • Include a version number and a release date, platform, and operating system (if available).
  • If a bibliography entry is included, list under the name of the publisher, or developer.

Examples:

Video games and other apps

FOOTNOTES

1. Angry Birds Transformers, v. 2.24.0, Rovio Entertainment, released June 28, 2023, Android 4.4. or later.

2. Gran Tourismo 7 for PlayStation 4 and 5, Mojang Studios, Sony Interactive Entertainment, released March 4, 2022.

 

BIBLIOGRPAHY

Rovio Entertainment. Angry Birds Transformers. V. 2.24.0. Released June 28, 2023. Android 4.4. or later.