Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Referencing Style : Books

The aim of this guide is to present concisely the basic rules for citing various types of resources in APA Referencing Style (7th edition).

 

General guidelines

  • Author/s or editor/s surname appears first, followed by initials, i.e. inverted.

Note: For two or more authors use “&” between the second name. For up to 20 authors, list the names of all authors. If more than 20 authors, list the first 19 authors’ names, then “…” and last author’s name.

  • Year of publication in brackets.
  • Full title of the book - sentence style, capitalize only the first letter of the title and the first letter of the subtitle, italicize.
  • Edition number - if applicable, in brackets after the title: (3rd ed.) or (Rev. ed.)
  • Place of publication is no longer included in the citation.
  • Publisher’s name - write it as show on the book (do not include terms as ‘Publishers’, ‘Co.’ or ‘Inc.’, but include ‘Books and Press’; when the author and publisher are the same, omit the publisher).

E-Books

Reference list entry:

Author, Initials. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle. Publisher. DOI or URL

  • Always include e-book DOI if available.

Examples: 

E-book with DOI

Schiraldi, G. R. (2001). The post-traumatic stress disorder sourcebook: A guide to healing, recovery, and growth. Routlege. https://doi.org/10.1036/0071393722

Young, S. & Smith, J. (2017). Helping children with ADHD: A CBT guide for practitioners, parents and teachers. John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118903155

E-book without DOI

Lecomte-Tilouine, M. (2017). Nature, culture and religion at the crossroads of Asia. Routledge. https://www.routledge.com/

Austen, J. (1853). Pride and prejudice: A novel. Google Books. http://books.google.co.nz/books?printsec=frontcover&dq=austen#v=onepage&q=&f=false

  • If DOI is not available, provide the home page URL of the book publisher
  • If the book is available free online, give the exact URL
  • Do not add retrieval date
  • Do not use "Retrieved from"

E-book (Kindle)

Gladwell, M. (2008). Outliers: The story of success. Back Bay Books. Amazon. http://www.amazon.com

Note: For e-books, the format, platform, or device (e.g. Kindle) is no longer included in the reference.

Publisher is included.

Website name is included (unless it's same as the author).

Audiobook Cain, S. (201). Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking (K. Mazur, Narr.) [Audiobook]. Random House Audio. http://xxxxx
Edited book with a DOI

Schmid, H.-J. (Ed.). (2017). Entrenchment and the psychology of language learning: How we recognize and adapt linguistic knowledge. American Psychological Association; De Gruyter Mouton. http://xxxxx

Note: In case with multiple publishers, separate them with a semicolon. 

Chapter from an edited book

Reference list entry:

Author, A. (Year). Title of chapter or entry. In E. Editor (Ed.) Title of book (ed., Vol., pp. xx). https://doi.xxxxx

Author, A. (Year). Title of chapter or entry. In E. Editor (Ed.) Title of book (ed., Vol., pp. xx). https://xxxxx

Note:

  • Place the author/s of the chapter first (inverted)
  • Year of publication
  • Title of the chapter (no italics)
  • After the title add ‘In…” followed by the editor/s’ names (not inverted) and book title (italics)
  • Book edition, volume and page range in brackets
  • Publisher name
  • DOI or URL

Chapter from an edited book with DOI

Helmig, B., & Thaler, J. (2010). Nonprofit marketing. In R. Taylor (Ed.), Third sector research (2nd ed., pp.151–169). https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4419-5707-8_12

Chapter from an edited book without DOI

Anderson, E. (2005). Dewey's moral philosophy. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Fall, 2008 ed.). Stanford.

Dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved June 14, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.) Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved May 5, 2019, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/

Zalta, E. N. (Ed.). (2019). The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019

Note: When a stable or archived version of the work is cited, a retrieval date is not required (last example). 

When an online reference work is continuously updated and the versions are not archived, use the "n.d." as the year of publication and include a retrieval date (APA and Merriam-Webster examples).


Entry in a dictionary with individual author

Graham, G. (2019). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019

Wikipedia entry

List of oldest companies. (2019, January 13). In Wikipedia. https://xxxxx

Note: Cite the archived version of the page so that readers can retrieve the version you used.

E-book / Reference format

                                                                                                    

Print book / Reference format

undefined

Book chapter / Reference format

undefined

Print Books (or books from academic databases)

Reference format

Author, Initial. (Year). Book title: Subtitle. Publisher.

Examples:

No author

Collins concise New Zealand dictionary (7th ed.). (2008). Collins.

Note: Use the first few words of the title, or the complete title if short.

One author

 

Collier, A. (2008). The world of tourism and travel. Pearson Education.

Airey, D. (2010). Logo design love: A guide to creating iconic brand identities. New Riders.

Author and publisher – same:

MidCentral District Health Board. (2008). District annual plan 2008/09.

Note: If the author and the publisher are the same, omit the publisher.

Corporate author as publisher

New Zealand Universities Academic Audit Unit. (1988). Academic audit reports: Reports of the general academic audits of New Zealand universities.

Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2016). Census of population and housing: Census dictionary, 2016 (No. 2901.0).

Note: Provide the full name of the organization in the reference list (no abbreviations).

Two authors or more

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 authors

Moran, A., & Toner, J. (2017). A critical introduction to sport psychology (3rd ed.). Routledge.

Note: Use ‘&’ between the names.

Up to 20 authors

Miller, T. C., Brown, M. J., Wilson, G. L., Evans, B. B., Kelly, R. S., Turner, S. T., Lewis, F., Lee, L. H., Cox, G., Harris, H. L., Martin, P., Gonzalez, W. L., Hughes, W., Carter, D., Campbell, C., Baker, A. B., Flores, T., Gray, W. E., Green, G. & Nelson, T. P. (2018).

Note: list all of the authors’ names.

More than 20 authors

Miller, T. C., Brown, M. J., Wilson, G. L., Evans, B. B., Kelly, R. S., Turner, S. T., Lewis, F., Lee, L. H., Cox, G., Harris, H. L., Martin, P., Gonzalez, W. L., Hughes, W., Carter, D., Campbell, C., Baker, A. B., Flores, T., Gray, W. E., Green, G., Nelson, T. P. (2018).

Note: List the first 19 authors’ names, then use three dots (ellipsis), followed by the last author’s name.

New edition of a book

Berk, L. E. (2004). Development through the lifespan (3rd ed.). Allyn and Bacon.

Note: Add the edition of the book after the book title.

Book with editors

Sykes, P., & Potts, A. (Eds.). (2008). Researching education from the inside: Investigations from within. Routledge.

Note: Add (Ed.) or (Eds.) after the author/s name/s.

Translated books

Marklund, L. (2011). Exposed (N. Smith, Trans.). Random House.

Note: Give the name of the translator in brackets after the title, followed by ‘Trans.’

Book republished in translation

Piaget, J., & Inhelder, B. (1969). The psychology of the child (H. Weaver, Trans.; 2nd ed.). Basic Books. (Original work published 1966).

Note: Note in parentheses at the end of the reference the original date of publication. If the new version has been edited or translated from the original, provide the name/s of the editor/s or translator/s in parentheses after the title.

Chapter from an edited book

Reference entry format:

Author, A. (Year). Title of chapter or entry. In  E. Editor (Ed.), Title of book (ed., Vol., pp. xx). Publisher.

Examples:

Easton, B. (2008). Does poverty affect health? In K. Dew & A. Matheson (Eds.), Understanding health inequalities in Aotearoa New Zealand (pp. 97–106). Otago University Press.

Root, J. (2007). Film noir. In P. Cook (Ed.). The cinema book (3rd ed., pp. 305–315). British Film Institute.

Note:

  • Place the author/s of the chapter first (inverted)
  • Year of publication
  • Title of the chapter (no italics)
  • After the title add ‘In…” followed by the editor/s’ names (not inverted) and book title (italics)
  • Book edition, volume and page range in brackets
  • Publisher name
  • DOI or URL

Multivolume work

 

 

One volume

Koch, S. (Ed.). (1959). Psychology: A study of science (Vol. 1). McGraw-Hill.

Several volumes

Koch, S. (Ed.). (1959-1963). Psychology: A study of science (Vols. 1-6). McGraw-Hill.

Chapter in a volume of a multivolume work

Goldin-Meadow, S. (2015). Gesture and cognitive development. In L. S. Liben & U. Mueller (Eds.), Handbook of child psychology and development science: Vol. 2. Cognitive processes (7th ed., pp. 339-380). John Wiley & Sons.

Note: If volume has series editors and volume editors, include volume editors only.

Multiple works, same author

Fujishin, R. (2016). Natural bridges: A guide to interpersonal communication. Routledge.

Fujishin, R. (2018). The natural speaker (9th ed.). Routledge.

Note: Order the publication by year, earliest first.

Books in another language

Amano, N., & Kondo, H. (2000). Nohongo no goi tokusei [Lexical characteristics of Japanese language] (Vol. 7). Sansei-do.

Note: When the book is in another language, include a translation of the title in square brackets.

Religious work (print&online)

King James Bible. (2017). King James Boble Online. https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.ord/ (Original work [Published 1769)

The Qur'an (M. A. S. Abdel Haleem, Trans.). (2004). Oxford Press University.

The Torah: The five books of Moses (3rd ed.). (2015). The Jewish Publication Society. (Original work published 1962)

Ancient Greek or Roman work

Plato. (1961). Meno (R. S. Bluck, Trans.). Cambridge University Press. (Original work published ca. 380 B.C.).

Aristotle. (1994). Poetics (S. H. Butcher, Trans.). The Internet Classics Archive. https://xxxxx (Original work published ca. 350 B. C. E.)

Reference book

VandenBor, G. R. (2007). APA dictionary for psychology. American Psychological Association.

How to cite a book?

How to cite a book in APA, published by EasyBib, licensed under Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 3.0