Skip to Main Content

Open Access Week 2023: Open Access Journals and Repositories

Open Access Week 2023 is an opportunity to join together, take action, and raise awareness around the importance of community control of knowledge sharing systems.

Directory of Open Access Repositories

 
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories.

Open Access Journals and Repositories

 

AMSER

The Applied Math and Science Education Repository is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
arXiv
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
The aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving millions digitized items. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Internet Archive - Open Educational Resources

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Genamics JournalSeek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Journals4Free is a directory of full or partial open access journals (i.e., with an embargo period). Results may be limited to titles included in PubMed, Scopus, and ISI databases
-------------------------------------------------------------------
LibriVox provides free audiobooks from the public domain. There are several options for listening.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Open Michigan

Open educational resources, open data, and open publications.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Scientific Electronic Library Online. SciELO provides Open Access to journals’ contents. Journals are organized in national and thematic collections.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Zenodo - General OA repository

Selected Free Online Collections

Project Gutenberg 
Project Gutenberg is the Internet's oldest producer of FREE electronic books (e-Books or e-Texts).  Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Folklore and Mythology
Mythology texts, arranged alphabetically, users can browse everything from popular fairytales to Russian ghost stories

------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Internet Archive Ebooks and Texts

The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.

 -------------------------------------------------------------------

University of California Press 
More than 500 titles are available to the general public, through a partnership with the  and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program.

 -------------------------------------------------------------------

The Online Book Page
Listing over 20 000 free books on the Web

Finding Open Educational Resources

The Manson OER Metafinder - Real-time federated search for Open Sducational Resources

Open Data Licensing

See here for information on Open Data Licensing.

Free Online Courses & Online Learning

Academic Earth

The first collection of free online college courses from the world’s top universities.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Khan Academy
Content on a wide range of topics from science and engineering to computer programming, all from a personalized learning dashboard that enables them to study at their own pace.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
The  program of the California State University system that invites educators to share and review OER on the MERLOT website. Materials on the site range widely from simulations, class activities, and media to case studies, open journal articles, and open textbooks.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

MIT’s Open CourseWare
Valuable teaching materials such as images, lecture slides, and videos from MITs leading researchers in the OCW resource library.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

OER Commons 

The portal allows you to search for open educational resources in a variety of types, educational levels, and subject areas. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------

OpenStax

Based at Rice University, OpenStax is an educational initiative that provides students with free online access to high-quality peer-reviewed textbooks

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Open Learning Initiative

Face-to-face class, online, or hybrid. Evidence-based learning science.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Open Culture
It’s a great place to find free cultural and educational media related to movies, language, literature, and more.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Open Education Consortium

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Saylor

Build new skills or work toward a degree at your own pace.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Teaching Commons pulls together OER published at a number of colleges and universities. To find open textbooks, select "textbooks" under "types of works."
 

Did you know?

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) first announced that it would be making its course materials freely available online. Back in 2001, the idea that university-level content could be accessed at no cost by users anywhere in the world was virtually unheard of, and the MIT OpenCourseWare initiative was a major driver in the Open Educational Resources (OER) movement.