Skip to Main Content

Open Access Week 2024: Open Access Publishing

Learn more about Open Access initiatives and possibilities.

Finding OA Publishers

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - online directory that indexes over 11,000 high quality, OA, peer-reviewed journals.
  • The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - a database that refers readers to open access books on publishers’ websites. DOAB contains 12,000 books or chapters from 280 publishers.
  • OAPEN - online library for open access book that promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication
  • Open Access Publishing Scholarly Association (OASPA) - a diverse community of organisations engaged in open scholarship.  
  • OAIster Database - union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. It includes more than 50 million records that represent digital resources from more than 2,000 contributors.eLife - OA journal in the Life Sciences
  • ROAD - Directory of Open Access Scholalry Resources
  • Open Library of Humanities (OLH) - non-profit OA publisher for the humanities
  • ISSN-Matching of Gold OA Journals (ISSN-GOLD-OA) 4.0 - the University of Bielefeld compiles a regularly updated list of journals from many other sources, and it is one of the most comprehensive sources of OA journals so far. 

  • Journals4Free - a directory of full or partial open access journals (i.e., with an embargo period). Results may be limited to titles included in PubMed, Scopus, and ISI databases.

Open Access in AUBG

Agreement between the Bulgarian Ministry of Education and Elsevier. Learn more about this here. Under this agreement, the APCs for publishing in selected hybrid and open-access journals will be covered. Please see here to find a suitable participating journal. 

To summarize the process:

  1. Once your article is ready, choose a participating Elsevier journal in your field and submit it there.
  2. After receiving the acceptance letter, proceed with the next steps for open-access publication submission.

Transformative agreement with database provider -  ACM (COS database), which offers the opportunity to publish open access at no extra cost.

Under the ACM Open model, corresponding authors from our institution have the opportunity to publish an unlimited number of open-access research articles in the ACM Digital Library, while retaining complete access to the library's contents under the traditional subscription model.

Click to enlarge the image.

 

 

Finding OA Repositories

What is Hybrid Open Access?

Hybrid OA is where a journal uses both the traditional subscription-based publishing model and provides the option for authors to publish their article OA. The articles published on OA in these journals will be free for the public, but the rest of the articles will be behind a paywall. There are Article Processing Charges (APCs) for publishing on OA in hybrid journals.

 

 

Preprints and Postprints

Preprint

A version of an article that has already been submitted to a journal but has not yet gone through the peer review process.

Where can I share a preprint?

You can submit a preprint of your article in any green OA repository (often discipline-specific). Keep in mind that all authors must give consent for publishing the preprint. Make sure to also check journal guidelines for publishing preprints/postprints. The preprint should be published under an open license (e.g. Creative Commons CC-BY).

Postprint

A version of an article that has already been accepted by a journal for publishing and has gone through the peer review process.

Where can I share a postprint?

You can submit a postprint of your article in green OA repository (see in OpenDOAR or ROAR). There might be an embargo period. Make sure to check journal guidelines for publishing preprints/postprints.

Published (version of record)

A version of an article that has already been officially published in a journal and has been assigned a DOI.

 

 If you have any questions about OA, please contact: