Academic Honesty & Plagiarism: Academic Honesty

Library guide provides resources, tools and techniques for how to deal with academic honesty and plagiarism. Panitza Library provides a rich reliable collection of print and online credible resources.

Academic integrity, as defined by the International Center for Academic Integrity (ICAI), is a commitment by academic communities, "even in the face of adversity," to the six core values of "honesty, trust, fairness, respect, responsibility, and courage."

   Rholetter WMe. Academic integrity. Salem Press Encyclopedia. 2019. Accessed November 4, 2021.

AUBG has a strong policy of academic integrity. 

Excerpt from 2021 Student Handbook. Academic integrity, p. 78.

The University's academic integrity policies and procedures are designed to ensure the fair and equitable resolution of all academic integrity issues across our community.

The transparency and rigor of these academic honesty standards is integral to academic engagement and intellectual freedom; promoting democratic values across the region of Southeast Europe and the world; and preserving the international reputation and recognition of the degrees granted by this University, and thus the reputation and value of the achievements of its students, faculty, staff, and alumni.

Examples of academic dishonesty include, but are not limited to:

• Incorrect Reporting of Information. In any project involving the collection of information, students must accurately report the data observed and not intentionally alter or falsify data for any reason.
• Violating Course Policies, Rules, and Regulations. Students may not deliberately disregard course policies, rules, and regulations in the development and submission of course requirements.
• Use of Work in One Course from Another. Students must not represent work completed for one course as original work for another course. This includes not only similar papers but also any work stemming from the same basic research.

Academic honesty is also expected of every student. Students who commit acts of academic dishonesty violate the University's academic integrity policies and will be sanctioned according to University procedures. Violations of academic integrity include, but are not limited to: giving or receiving unauthorized aid or unfair advantage for any form of academic work (“cheating”); copying the language, structure, ideas, and/or thoughts of another and presenting them as one's own (“plagiarism”); making untrue statements, spoken or written, regarding any circumstances relating to academic work (“falsification”); and attempting any act that, if completed, would constitute academic dishonesty. 

An important part of academic integrity is making sure that you avoid plagiarism by correctly acknowledging the work of others.

Student Handbook p. 79 

The University's academic integrity policies and procedures are predicated upon the concepts of academic honesty and academic dishonesty.
The University defines academic dishonesty as any action or activity intended to achieve academic gain through deceit, misrepresentation, or the inappropriate use of unauthorized materials or assistance. Any act, or attempted act, of academic dishonesty constitutes a violation of academic integrity.

•  Plagiarism. Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use without full and clear acknowledgement the published or unpublished work of another person through summary, paraphrase, or direct quotation. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person. 

Please use reliable resources from Panitsa's library collections:

• Panitza Library Catalog
• Databases

- Visit Credo InfoLit – Core to learn the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.

- Rely on Encyclopedia Britannica to verify the facts.